top of page

Silk red warp

I wanted to try out silk in the warp as I have only been using cotton so far. when putting the red warp onto the loom I noticed it wasn't the same bold shade as the cotton. I wanted to continue using it to see how it would look with the colours I had dyed. The reason for doing this warp was to experiment with different structures to see how that would work.

Throughout this warp the colours weren't working together like they were on the countermarch and some of the structures I felt were being more of a distraction rather than enhancing the look of samples. I tried some structures where the lines were more prominent in the warp so they were blocking up the weft lines, the design was becoming less bold and strong. I also tried out some crepe structures which worked better because theres no certain look unlike the twill where the lines clearly go in diagonal way. I am glad I did these samples as I got a lot of information back about how the structures work with my designs. I prefer using plain weave as it looks more sleek and the patterns show up clearly and as there are thin lines in the weft it is better if they can be shown up to the best ability.


bottom of page